and the penny drops….slowly

My sister spent Dec 30, 2010 at the hospital with Alistair.  Gary, Spencer and I were looking forward, somewhat anxiously, to his return home on Jan 1st.  Suzanne wanted Gary and I to have a night to ourselves before a different roller coaster ride began.  Unfortunately, that was the night he began his rapid descent into hell.  But before that happened, it seems they had quite a conversation.  She felt his thinking was so mature as he shared his thoughts on his family and the importance of them, of being together and of the joy of simply things like the shower he had so enjoyed that morning.

Two weeks later, Suzanne shared her conversation with Alistair as she spoke movingly at his funeral.  “Mom is hysterical” was one of his observations.  I was a little hurt, but I thought I understood.  He was referring to me in those last days.  When the doctors told Alistair, Gary and I that Alistair had leukemia, it was a huge shock.  We thought he had the flu, an infection maybe.  This was stunningly terrible news.  My heart lurched, my eyes watered as I thought of my baby.  I tried to hold it together, not for me, but for Alistair.  We had to be positive, to be brave.  Eventually, once the type of leukemia was diagnosed, we learned that Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia had the best success rate, though being male and being older were higher risks for his recovery.  Spencer knew of a professional hockey player who had had leukemia.  Some stats indicated a 94% chance of full recovery.  My mind struggled with all the data and information.  We were given a binder of information and were trying to re learn ordinary tasks like brushing teeth (which would have to change as the result of his gums weakened by chemo) as well as learn how to give needles.  So yes, I was probably hysterical despite my best efforts.

Gary, on the other hand, was exactly what Alistair needed. He was there, really there, for Alistair.  They sat together in Alistair’s hospital room for hours.  They would talk sports or movies or games or watch the TV or nap.  Gary was simply ‘present’.  He was not concentrating on taking care of Spencer or the cats and turtle at home, not worried about the documentation, the forms, the shuttling back and forth or keeping family up to date. He was not worried about how we were going to juggle two full time jobs, Spencer’s sports and Alistair’s medical requirements. He was with Alistair.  That was the only thing on his mind and in his heart.  There would be time for the rest later.

I understood Alistair’s comment and I for a long time, if I am honest, I was a little jealous of Gary, jealous that he had been what Alistair needed.

But the penny has dropped. It has taken almost two years, a new country and meeting lots of new people. I have come to recognize that I am hysterical, as in hysterically funny. When I am at the office, some people actually brighten up when they see me.  They know I will make them at least smile but probably laugh. Not only do I see this, but they have been kind enough to tell me that as well.  People have commented about blog posts too, telling me that they were laughing out loud at some of my outrageous adventures or my outrageous recounting of adventures and everyday activities. I enjoy people, I like engaging with them and I have fun with them. And finally, perhaps most appealing to my boys, I try not to take everything too seriously, I can (on my good days) make fun of myself, actually laugh at myself.

So four years ago, Alistair was telling me something that I was too wounded to appreciate.  Now, in a different place and time, I hear what he was telling me.  I feel his love and encouragement.  I sense myself approaching self acceptance with less disappointment and more contentment.

Alistair, message received. This penny has finally dropped.  Thank you, Bobo. I still love you too.

xoxox

10 thoughts on “and the penny drops….slowly

  1. Cynthia, I am sending hugs your way.  You are so honest about your feelings and so brave to share them. Alistair needed both of you in different ways.   You both helped me so much when John and I split up.  I still have the “Road Less  travelled” that you gave me at that time.  My love to you and Gary.

    Janet Alderdice

    Sent from Samsung tablet

    • Janet, lovely to hear from you and thank you for the vote of confidence. I am glad you felt Gary and I helped you lo those many years ago! I have no recollection at all and had no idea that I shared the Road Less Travelled. I have often thought about re-reading it. Perhaps this is new incentive!
      I will pass your love along. I hope its finally spring down East.

  2. Hi Cynthia, I received your blog thru a friend..and have been following you and enjoying your stories as my daughter also spent some time teaching in Africa a few years ago. I am not sure you remember me but I work at IBM and worked for Gary many moons ago. This blog hit home with me..and is the reason I remember you so fondly. Always joking…hysterically funny is a great way to describe it. I also have fond memories of working for Gary as my Team Leader. Always calm, down to earth and supportive…similar to what you talk about here. Its such a small world as my next neighbour has been a teacher and coach at Don Mills CI for years – and knew Spencer. He also spoke of you guys so fondly one day…only for me to realize years later that it was the Hoys that I knew and loved from IBM. Take care my friends…safe journey home when the time comes…….you are an inspiration to so many.

    • Karen, yes I do indeed remember you from oh so long ago. I was surprised when I saw you following the blog. What a small world. who is your neighbor as I would love to tell Spencer that he is remembered as well. thank you for your kinds words, its always nice to know when something resonates with someone else, especially if it helps in some way.

  3. Wonderful. Another gift for all of us. I will miss them when your blog comes to an end.

    So anyway, in anticipation of your return I am going to be patient and stand back while you’re mobbed by family and other friends. However, I will be keen to book time with you and Gary once things have settled.

    • OUCH! You are assuming the blog will end upon re-entry? I think mobbing might be an over enthusiastic exaggeration! But we shall definitely schedule a Balm reunion soon.

  4. Cynthia, I always enjoyed ‘running into you’ as the saying goes in the halls of IBM. We first worked together at RTT I think in 1983 or 1984. So that’s more than 30 years of knowing you. And you always added a sparkle to my day when I would see you. Take care D

  5. Cynthia It is so easy to be hurt by your children as they are the ones that you love unconditionally..believe me you were there with every fiber of your body and soul. You could not be Gary, and he would not expect you to be…you were you, and it was the you who you now discovered, is the one he loved and that everyone loves.

    Miriam

Leave a comment